A recap of the Jewish Muslim Dialogue held at American University last week

From Washington Jewish Week, “Importance of civility: A.U. hosts Jewish-Muslim dialogue” by Larry Luxner:

The first time Pakistani diplomat, author and lecturer Akbar Ahmed was invited to speak at a synagogue, his deeply suspicious Muslim countrymen did all they could to dissuade him from going.

“I was invited by my great friend, Jonathan Sacks, the chief rabbi of Britain,” he said, recalling the 1999 controversy. “I literally had no idea about Jewish history, and I had never been in a synagogue. There was opposition from Muslims who were determined to prevent me from giving my talk. And there were Jewish students who also said it must not be allowed. But I did go, and from then on, the atmosphere in England changed in terms of Jewish-Muslim relations.”

Since then, Ahmed has been to shul many times — perhaps even more than some Jews.

Read the entire article here.

Leave a Reply

